UMM O+N is now at http://ummon.wordpress.com/

Umm has moved to Wordpress.
And those of you kind enough to list me on your blog, please update the link: http://ummon.wordpress.com/
Let's go...

Thursday, January 01, 2009

Madras Musings II

Finding domestic help seems to be increasingly difficult here. While this does create inconveniences, it’s definitely a very encouraging and hopeful sign.

There are more productive job opportunities available
The lot of the class of people traditionally veering towards domestic work has improved
The children of domestic workers are better educated, hence don't follow in the footsteps of their parents
Those who still go in for this job are expecting better pay, terms and treatment
Those at the receiving end of the lack of help are beginning to appreciate the help they have received in the past


It makes me smile… even though I worry that my ageing parents and parents-in-law suffer because of inadequate help. But I guess we can either live with a little dust and grime, or learn to clean up after ourselves.

Tagged

This is a tag from Deeps. The rule is - I'm supposed to be pasting an image for every answer of mine, from the first page of google image search, with minimal explanation.So, here I go....



1. The age you will be in your next birthday: 35





2. A place you’d like to travel to: Tawang



3. Your Favourite place: The terrace outside my room, at mum’s place. Such a great hang out for my friends and me during school and college. (Looks nothing like the pic. Far, far more modest a place than this.)



4. Your favourite food/drink: Masala Dosai and Filter coffee. And Vodka.










5. Your favourite pet: Like dogs. But not a major pet person.






6. Your favourite colour combination: Orange and Pink




7. Your favourite piece of clothing: Bootleg Jeans




8. Your all time favourite song: So many. But to choose -- Leaving on a jet plane…both Denver and Chantal versions.




9. Your favourite TV show: Grey’s Anatomy & Ugly Betty amongst current. FRIENDS is an all time fave.







10. Full name of your significant other: Bungeecowboy is what he likes to be called.




11. The town in which you live in: Doha




12. Your screen name/nickname: vanish_forever




13. Your first job: Was selling ice cream makers in a trade fair in my teens.




14. Your Dream Job: Living the dream. A journalist.





15: Bad Habit you have: Never trusting a compliment.




16. Your worst fear: Losing someone I love. Literally and otherwise.




17. The one thing you’ll like to do before you die: Educate at least one child (in need) other than mine from primary to higher, and see him/her successful in a career of his/her choice.




18. The first thing you’ll buy if you get $1,000,000: I would set up a lending library for children, charging only a maintenance fee. And then indulge myself guilt-lessly, having done my good deed.




And I hereby tag, Shyam, Teesu, Blogeswari, MG, Usha (when she gives me her blog id), Inbavalli.